NHTD/TBI Program
The Nursing Home Transition and Diversion (NHTD) Waiver Program is one of the options available to New Yorkers with disabilities and seniors 65 and older, so they may receive services in the community rather than in Nursing Home. The NHTD program is targeted at individuals either already in nursing homes and wanting to return to their community or those being considered for nursing home placement but who would prefer to avoid institutional care and remain in their own homes.

The Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) waiver program services individuals with brain injury between ages 18-65. The program aims to help people with a TBI live in the community setting of their choice.
1st CHoice Home Care Services, Inc. has a unique approach catering to the unique needs of individuals requiring these specialized forms of care. Our professional staff is well-trained in the intricacies of these waiver programs and works diligently to ensure that the enrollment process is efficient and completed promptly.
Our experienced Service Coordinator is always at the ready, working closely with the patients and families, available at any time to address immediate needs, ensuring you feel supported and cared for.
If the patient is already receiving standard home care services but requires extended hours of care, the NHTD and TBI waiver program can be a perfect solution. Our agency is approved for Service Coordination (SC) and Home and Community Support Services (HCSS), where the Service Coordinator provides ongoing assistance with a person-centered individualized service plan.

About NHTD/TBI Waiver Program

To qualify for the NHTD Medicaid Waiver, an individual must meet the following criteria:

✓ Demonstrate the ability to reside in the community with necessary support from informal, non-Medicaid, and/or Medicaid State Plan services, requiring one or more waiver services.

✓ Meet the eligibility standards for nursing home level of care.

✓ Have authorization to receive Medicaid Community Based Long Term Care.

✓ Be at least 18 years old.

✓ Be part of an aggregate group that can be cared for more cost-effectively in the community than a comparable group in a nursing home.

✓ Opt to live in the community as a participant in this waiver instead of a nursing home.

What is TBI?
The Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) waiver program
The Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) waiver program caters to individuals recovering from traumatic brain injuries or strokes who wish to safely recuperate at home while actively participating in their care decisions.

To qualify for the TBI Medicaid Waiver, an individual must:
✓ Hold Medicaid coverage supporting community-based long-term care services.
✓ Have a diagnosis of traumatic brain injury (TBI).
✓ Fall within the age range of 18 to 64 at the time of waiver application.
✓ Choose waiver participation over residing in a nursing facility by completing the Freedom of Choice form, Application for Participation form, and Service Coordination Selection form.
✓ Collaborate with a Service Coordinator to develop and gain approval for the Initial Service Plan and Application Packet through the Regional Resource Development Specialist (RRDS).

"Empowering Lives, Embracing Hope: Navigate Your Journey to Recovery with Our NHTD/TBI Waiver Services – Because Every Step Forward is a Triumph."

Fill out the form and we will contact you
Made on